Our Principal

Our 21st Century Challenge

The most exciting breakthrough of the 21 Century has not occurred because of technology, but because of an expanding concept of how learners now need to develop an array of ‘Habits for Learning’ that will enable them to be an effective Learners, within this rapidly changing digital era.

What technology now provides, is 24/7 access to a world of information and collaborative learning opportunities.

This exciting situation has created the chance for teachers to design learning experiences, that can build on the natural curiosity, connectedness, creativity and courage of students to find out about their world.

Garry de Thierry

PRINCIPAL

principal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

 

These learning experiences also require students to become aware of the crucial ‘Habits for Learning’,  such as being: adaptive, collaborative, innovative, resilient, self managing and of course curious, to be lifelong learners.

Our intention at Rotorua Intermediate, is not only enhance our focus on core curriculum areas, but ensuring our holistic approach is developing a mindful and morally conscious student, who is confident in using our school’s ‘Habits for Learning’. Be assured this approach will be preparing our young people, for an ever changing world of uncertainty, because they will have embedded the necessary ‘Habits for Learning’.

Garry de Thierry
Principal

Assistant Principals

Heather Nahu

DEPUTY PRINCIPAL

heathern@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Stephanie Chand

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

stephaniec@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Jodi Le Comte-Hepburn

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

jodih@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Administration Team

Christine Browne

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

christineb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Julie Cartwright

OFFICE MANAGER

juliec@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Paula Clayton

OFFICE ASSISTANT

paulac@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Classroom Teachers

Lisa Steele

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 1

lisas@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Jenny Prouse

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 2

jennyp@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Nathalie MacFarlane

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 3

nathaliem@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Rebecca Steers

WHANAU LEADER / TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 4

rebeccas@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Pomane Karauna

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 5

pomanek@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Raewyn Campbell

TEACHER

Pukaki 1

raewync@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Julie Anderson

TEACHER

Pukaki 2

juliea@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Stacey Birch

TEACHER

Pukaki 3

staceyb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Jayne Hendriske

TEACHER

Pukaki 3

jayneh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Joanna Mitchell

WHANAU LEADER /TEACHER

Pukaki 4 Y7

joanam@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Kirsten Richards

WHANAU LEADER/TEACHER

Pukaki Y8
kirstenr@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Tamihana Gardiner

TEACHER

Taeotu 1

tamihanag@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Kataraina Smith

TEACHER

Taeotu 2
katarainas@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Merekara Gardiner

WHANAU LEADER/TEACHER

Taeotu 3

merekarag@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Nora Allerby

TEACHER

Taeotu 4

noraa@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Rachel Rowe

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 1

rachelr@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Trish Kershaw

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 2

trishk@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Kathy Todd

WHANAU LEADER/TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 3

kathleent@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Olly Eason

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 4

olivere@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Susan Bently

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 5

susanb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Natascha Williams

TEACHER

Tunohopu 1

nataschaw@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Shannon Napier

TEACHER

Tunohopu 2

shannonn@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Evan Harrison

TEACHER

Tunohopu 3

evanh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Adrian Firman

WHANAU LEADER/TEACHER

Tunohopu 4

adrianf@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Helen Kang

TEACHER

Tunohopu 5

helenk@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Erika Locke

LITERACY SPECIALIST

Literacy Room

erikal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Wendy Staunton

NUMERACY SPECIALIST/MST

Numeracy Room

wendys@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Dean Henderson

LEARNING SUPPORT COORDINATOR

Learning Support Room

deanh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Pathways Teachers

Shelley Eagle

GRAPHIC DESIGN TEACHER

shelleye@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Erin Freeman

CODING TEACHER/TEAM LEADER

erinf@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Robert Powley

MUSIC PERFORMANCE TEACHER

robertp@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Alasdair Hay

SCIENCE TEACHER

alasdairh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Dave Parry

DESIGN ENGINEERING TEACHER

davep@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Helene Walsh

MINECRAFT DESIGN TEACHER

helenew@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Buffy Anaru

CULINARY ARTS TEACHER

buffya@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Rachel Hitchens

HAUORA TEACHER

rachelh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Support Staff

Toni Hobbs

IN CLASS SUPPORT STAFF

tonih@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Tanya Leef

IN CLASS SUPPORT STAFF

tanyal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Angela Lee

ESOL & IN CLASS SUPPORT STAFF

angelal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Raewyn Taylor

READING TUTOR

raewynt@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Bruce Berry

READING TUTOR

bruceb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Blake Nahu

SPORTS CO-ORDINATOR

blaken@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Property Managers

Terry Holsgrove

PROPERTY MANAGER

terryh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Sharon Alabaster

CARETAKER

sharona@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz