Our Principal

Our 21st Century Challenge

The most exciting breakthrough of the 21 Century has not occurred because of technology, but because of an expanding concept of how learners now need to develop array of ‘Habits for Learning’ that will enable them to be an effective Learner, within this rapidly changing digital era.

What technology now provides, is 24/7 access to a world of information and collaborative learning opportunities.

This exciting situation has created the chance for teachers to design learning experiences, that can build on the natural curiosity, connectedness, creativity and courage of students to find out.

Garry de Thierry

PRINCIPAL

principal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

 

These learning experiences also require students to become aware of the crucial ‘Habits for Learning’, which are being: Adative, collaborative, innovative, resilient, self managing and of course curious, to be lifelong learners.

Our intention at Rotorua Intermediate, is not only enhance our focus on core curriculum areas, but ensuring our holistic approach is developing a mindful and morally conscience student, that is confident in using our school’s ‘Habits for Learning’. Be assured this approach will be preparing our young people, for an ever changing world of uncertainty, because they will have embedded the needed ‘Habits for Learning’.

Garry de Thierry
Principal

Assistant Principals

Heather Nahu

DEPUTY PRINCIPAL

heathern@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Stephanie Chand

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

stephaniec@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Jodi Le Comte-Hepburn

ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

jodih@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Administration Team

Christine Browne

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

christineb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Julie Cartwright

OFFICE MANAGER

juliec@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Paula Clayton

OFFICE ASSISTANT

paulac@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Classroom Teachers

Trish Kershaw

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 1

trishk@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Oliver Eason

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 2

olivere@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Helen Kang

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 3

helenk@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Janelle Shaw

WHANAU LEADER / TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 4

janelles@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Susan Bentley

TEACHER

Hurungaterangi 5

susanb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Raewyn Campbell

TEACHER

Pukaki 1

raewync@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Julie Anderson

TEACHER

Pukaki 2

juliea@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Jenny Prouse

TEACHER

Pukaki 3

nancyc@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Joanna Mitchell

TEACHER

Pukaki 4

joannam@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Kirsten Adair

TEACHER

Pukaki 4

kirstena@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Evan Harrison

TEACHER

Taeotu 1

evanh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Natascha Williams

TEACHER

Taeotu 2

nataschaw@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Merekara Gardiner

WHANAU LEADER / TEACHER

Taeotu 3

merekarag@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Nora Allerby

TEACHER

Taeotu 4

noraa@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Leilani Ngawhika

TEACHER

Taeotu 5

leilanin@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Kathy Todd

WHANAU LEADER / TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 1

kathyt@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Rachel Ellwood

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 2

rachele@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Phil Lash

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 3

phill@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Stacey Birch

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 4

staceyb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Jayne Hendrikse

TEACHER

Te Roro o te rangi 4

jayneh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Pomane Karauna

TEACHER

Tunohopu 1

pomanek@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Haylee Ellen

TEACHER

Tunohopu 2

hayleee@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Cheryl Manley

WHANAU LEADER / TEACHER

Tunohopu 3

cherylm@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Lisa Duff

TEACHER

Tunohopu 4

lissad@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Kathy Sutcliffe

LITERACY SPECIALIST

Literacy

kathys@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Pathways Teachers

Shelley Eagle

GRAPHIC DESIGN TEACHER

Graphic Design

shelleye@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Erin Freeman

CODING TEACHER

Coding

erinf@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Alasdair Hay

SCIENCE TEACHER

Science

alasdairh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Lachlan Campbell

SCIENCE TEACHER

Science

lachlanc@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Dave Parry

DESIGN ENGINEERING TEACHER

Design & Construction

davep@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Helene Walsh

MINECRAFT DESIGN TEACHER

Minecraft Design

helenew@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Buffy Anaru

CULINARY ARTS TEACHER

Culinary Arts

buffya@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Robert Powley

MUSIC PERFORMANCE TEACHER

Music Performance

robertp@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Rachel Hitchens

HAUORA TEACHER

Hauora

rachelh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Support Staff

Toni Hobbs

IN CLASS SUPPORT STAFF

tonih@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Tanya Leef

IN CLASS SUPPORT STAFF

tanyal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Angela Leef

ESOL & IN CLASS SUPPORT STAFF

angelal@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Raewyn Taylor

READING TUTOR

raewynt@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Bruce Berry

READING TUTOR

bruceb@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Blake Nahu

SPORTS CO-ORDINATOR

blaken@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

RTLB

Erika Locke

RTLB

Property Managers

Terry Holsgrove

PROPERTY MANAGER

terryh@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz

Sharon Alabaster

CARETAKER

sharona@rotorua-intermediate.org.nz